Jump to content

Collaborative Research Standing Committee

The Working Party was formed in April 2006 when a meeting of BIHS members actively engaged in research was called to discuss collaborative prijects. A small group evolved to form the Working Party and a Research Network was established to provide a wider forum for discussion.

The Working Party re-grouped in 2014 to widen the boundaries of BIHS involvement in national research into hypertension and cardiovascular disease.

Chair: Professor Christian Delles (Exec Rep)
Dr Chris Clark
Professor Franco Cappuccio Professor Tom MacDonald
Professor Indranil Dasgupta Professor Isla Mackenzie
Dr Mark Glover Dr Carmel McEniery
Professor Paul Leeson Dr Paul Robinson
Dr Helen Warren Dr Manish Sinha


Research Network:

The Research Network comprises BIHS members from all over the UK and Ireland who are actively involved in research.


  • To design and execute new clinical research studies expected to benefit from collaboration among several centres
  • To engage with stakeholders to secure funding for BIHS research studies
  • To consider individual research projects for BIHS ‘endorsement’
  • To ‘adopt’ studies in which at least one BIHS member/centre participates in delivery
  • Peer review of new studies
  • Identifying priority areas for research
  • Supporting recruitment for studies via the BIHS network
  • Disseminating research results

 BIHS Research Support for Members