Jump to content

Blood Pressure Measurement Standing Committee

The Working Party was established in 2003 when small groups of interested BIHS members were formed to deliver specific projects on behalf of the Executive Committee. It’s name was changed to Standing Committee in September 2022.


  • To review published validation studies with the aim of listing those that comply with the appropriate standards on the BIHS website
  • To oversee the BIHS Validation Service for manufacturers of blood pressure monitors
  • To engage with the MHRA and other interested agencies to regulate the use of mercury in clinical practice
  • To advise on and provide educational resources for the measurement of blood pressure